Keep fighting, May.

Pink ribbons for Breast Cancer AwarenessA dear friend of mine, May, is a breast cancer survivor. She is one of the strongest, coolest, funniest, most amazing people I know. I don’t know all the details of her battle with the Big C, but she’s fought, and fought, and fought. And for a while she’s been okay.

She texted me today. She said she saw her oncologist, and there’s a metastasis in her left ilium. She’s changing her medications, and will start radiation therapy. She asked me to pray for her. I’m raging inside, because praying is all I can do.

May and I are both moderators for PodCentral.ph, an online community for Filipino iPod owners. Over the past year or so, despite the fact that we don’t get to spend too much time together, she and I have become very close, and I love her dearly.

Our little PodCentral “mafia” includes May, myself, John and Natz. The last two are ophthalmologists, surgeons with rock-steady hands to go into your eyeball and fix whatever’s wrong. They’re crazy and outrageous, but they’re good guys, underneath all the ribald, frat-boy humor. May is like our Mom. Put the four of us together, and you’ve got a riot.

I was chatting online with John and Natz today when May’s message came in. Suddenly the goofing off and childish potshots came to a dead halt, the hilarity stopped cold. I asked the doctors what was going on, what it all meant. They said it wasn’t good news.

John said he didn’t like it that it had spread to the left ilium, which Natz explained was somewhere near the spine (I’ve gotta look that up). John made me realize what a distance that was for a malignant growth to spread, and I felt my heart go cold.

I don’t know what the stages are, when it finally hits home with you when someone you love has cancer. But since I’ve only spent time with May when she was okay, it was hard for me to come to terms with the fact that she really wasn’t okay. I couldn’t fathom the fact that she was battling the cancer again. Big time, this time.

I had to ask the guys if we were going to lose May. I had to. I didn’t know what or how to ask, but I wanted to know if things were so bad that we might lose her. They were honest enough to tell me they couldn’t say.

I had to go be alone for a while, because it came home like a kick in the chest.

I don’t know anything yet about breast cancer, but I sure as hell am about to learn, and I’m going to do whatever I can to help May through this. It’s not really like I can do anything, but I’m going to be there for her if it’s the last thing I do. I won’t tell her everything’s going to be okay, because I don’t know that. But John and Natz and I will be there, and if there’s anything we can do to help her deal with this thing, we’ll do it.

Meanwhile, if you or someone you love has had to deal with breast cancer, please, share what you’ve learned with me. This is all really new, and I’d appreciate a gentle shove in the right direction. Thanks.

3 Comments

  1. Fran Romeo said,

    Tuesday, September 5, 2006 at 4:01 am

    I would love to know if your pink ribbon heart can be used on products I design for Pink-Ribbon-Store.com.

    I’ve been picturing how to do this and when I saw yours I loved it.

  2. i cant say said,

    Tuesday, October 10, 2006 at 4:51 pm

    My mums friend got cancer and she died mi auntie got cancer and she died and so did mi nan 1 and now mi mum has got breast cnacer and im scared she isd going to die aswell i cant live without er i have a younger sister and mi da plays no part in mi life and i wout be able to cope i no i could reli on people and they will look after us but mi mum id mi best friend

  3. i cant say said,

    Tuesday, October 10, 2006 at 4:53 pm

    wot do i do im onli14
    will i get it aswell ?


Leave a Reply

