Coming soon to skin near you.

Finally got my new tattoo design together, and I can't wait to get inked!

Mira's tat

It's Gan, the Turtle (see the Turtle of enormous girth, upon His shell he holds the earth… ), with the Rose, 19, the Dark Tower and the symbol for Ka in a shape reminiscent of a yin-yang symbol. On the left, "Ka is a wheel." Which fits perfectly with my being an Instrument of Karma. Then on the right, "Stand, and be true." Both statements are very important to me and who I am.

If you understand what these symbols mean, good for you — hile and well-met, sai.

If you don't, then I won't bother to explain. Pick up Stephen King's Dark Tower series, and find out for yourself, may it do ya fine.

25 Comments

  1. shepheard said,

    Sunday, April 9, 2006 at 12:55 pm

    Post a pic when you get it and it heals.

    If it is in a place that can be shown in public. LOL

    It looks very complicated and detailed.

  2. miranoriel said,

    Sunday, April 9, 2006 at 9:04 pm

    I know — I can't wait! It'll go between my shoulderblades, so a pic won't be a problem. Watch this space! 🙂

    I keep wishing I could find a better rose illustration, though. Like the Keyhold illustration, with the Rose twined around the revolver. I found one at DT.net; I might revise my tat design to see if it'll work, but that just ups the detail factor by a whole magnitude, and I don't know if I want to get my ink to be so big you can see all the detail… We'll see. Whatever it turns out looking like, what matters is that I will finally have a tat that marks me as a Tower junkie, and affirms my lifelong love for Stephen King.

  3. Poetic Quiddity said,

    Monday, April 17, 2006 at 6:16 pm

    that will be an awesome tat. i also dig how on the Ka symbol it is reminiscent of the serpent eating its tail (the way the line is thicker and thins out on the circle. very cool tat!!!

  4. Shepherd said,

    Tuesday, April 18, 2006 at 2:29 am

    Did you try the Tat thread in GD?

    It May be a little buried but I think there is one there it is an older post as I recall.

    Too bad it goes between you shoulder blades. I was hoping for…NM.

  5. miranoriel said,

    Wednesday, April 19, 2006 at 5:49 am

    I’ll take another look-see; there have been something I missed. I did check out the Tat thread, and the ink some people have is awesome!

    You were hoping for what, exactly? 😀

  6. Shepherd said,

    Wednesday, April 19, 2006 at 12:22 pm

    Your toes! (Walter, ya’ think she bought that?)

  7. miranoriel said,

    Wednesday, April 19, 2006 at 1:02 pm

    Oh, totally. I’m sooo gullible, y’know. I’ll believe anything. Try me. LOL!

  8. Shepherd said,

    Thursday, April 20, 2006 at 10:27 pm

    Wow. In that case, wanna go fishing? LOL

  9. miranoriel said,

    Thursday, April 20, 2006 at 10:54 pm

    Sure! You got bait? 😀

  10. shepherd said,

    Friday, April 21, 2006 at 11:25 pm

    LOL

    Sorry that was a punch line to an old joke. Perhaps you have never heard it.

  11. Teh Jogre said,

    Sunday, April 23, 2006 at 6:51 pm

    I do!

    _>

  12. aryn said,

    Tuesday, May 2, 2006 at 12:27 am

    I really like your tattoo design, it definately encopasses the main messages of the books. perhaps you could incorporate the symbol inscribed into rolands guns.

  13. miranoriel said,

    Tuesday, May 2, 2006 at 5:26 am

    Thankee-sai, aryn. That’s a wonderful idea — the sigul of the Eld would make a terrific addition to the design! Or maybe a whole tat in itself. Ooo…

  14. Shepherd said,

    Saturday, May 6, 2006 at 2:22 pm

    Yeah.

    A revolver with the rose wrapped around it would be cool, and it could be a small tat…too! LOL

  15. Patrick said,

    Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 4:12 pm

    That design is freakin’ awesome!

  16. miranoriel said,

    Monday, May 22, 2006 at 12:59 am

    Thanks, Patrick! 😀

  17. jAKE said,

    Friday, June 16, 2006 at 10:52 pm

    that’s a very cool motive, when will you get it done? I got a very very cool one myself, the no. 19, the “1” is the tower and you can see the wheel of ka in the circle of the “9” and there is a red rose entangled around the tower and a raven sitting on the wheel of ka.

  18. Templeboo42 said,

    Wednesday, September 27, 2006 at 2:25 pm

    Wait, isn’t Gan the creator, and the turtle’s name is Maturin? ( Awesome tattoo by the way). My daughter’s name is Morgan Delia – Gan Delah anyone? We call her Gan all the time.

  19. marla said,

    Friday, August 17, 2007 at 4:56 am

    this is a beautiful design that says so much….i want to design a tat that includes the mark of the white and and something that represents ka and ka-tet, along with some other personal symbols. in my dreams, ive traveled through different doors and portals and landed in different “wheres and whens”, if you will. sounds extreme or fanatical, but after reading the dt series and watching “what the bleep do we know?”, life hasnt been what it used to be to me. your design is very harmonious and inspiring to a fellow dark tower fan, so i say thankee sai, long days and pleasant nights…..
    p.s. why did the dead baby cross the road?

  20. Jeff said,

    Saturday, February 2, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    I just wanted to say that your design is well thought out. However, as I understood it that symbol that you say is Ka in the circle is acutally the symbol of the Crimson King ( at least thats what I remember). Either way it stills fits into the overall concept so it isn’t a big deal. I am thinking of getting a tatto also to honor the series as it has surprisingly had a huge effect on my outlook of life. I want to get the symbol for the line of the eld that is inscribed on Roland’s guns with “KA” right below it…..simple and yet a constant reminder to myself that everything has a reason.

  21. miranoriel said,

    Wednesday, March 5, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Thanks, Jeff. The symbol for Ka is correct; the symbol for the Crimson King is a rough drawing of an eye. 🙂

  22. Dekadans said,

    Saturday, March 8, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Wonderful tattoo there – sai 🙂

  23. Just Johnny said,

    Sunday, July 27, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    It would be great if I could see the picture. Maybe you can check into your hosting? 😀

    I’ll be back.

  24. miranoriel said,

    Tuesday, July 29, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    😮

    By Gan, it’s Johnny.

    Johnny Blaze.

    *tacklehugsmoochy*

    Picture’s working fine for me, hon. I don’t know what the problem is; could have been a temporary problem when you accessed it… hmm…

    It’s so good to hear from you. You’ll be back? I’m holding you to that, gunslinger.

  25. Just Johnny said,

    Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    I meant of the actual Tat. Have you gotten it? Please email me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

