You know you’re a geek when…

… you’re about to head off for three days to an island resort and your main concern is that you’ll be offline.

My department is heading for Puerto Galera for three days and two nights, ostensibly for our annual planning workshop and team-building activity, plus time for everyone to just kick back and goof off together. I’m looking forward to it, but at the same time part of me is appalled at the idea of being away from desk- and laptop for three entire days. The horror! My carefully cultivated pasty complexion from basking in the glow of my monitor is in peril! 😆

Yes, I could take my laptop with me, but there really won’t be time to be hanging out in the business center and trading icons and posting off-topic goofiness at the message board I’m an admin for. Argh. I am so looking forward to the email avalanche I’ll have to dig myself out of when I return. Not.

Also, I hate the fact that I’m going to miss a group of guests who are coming to Manila with Valor Tours, who make a point of including the University of Santo Tomas Museum in their itinerary whenever they’re here. I always look forward to a Valor Tours group; they usually have WWII vets, friends and family of military and civilian POWs and a sprinkling of military history enthusiasts with them, and I get to share the story of Santo Tomas Internment Camp with them.

Unfortunately, their schedule this trip doesn’t allow for a swingback through Santo Tomas, so it’s April 4 or nothing. Sigh.

1 Comment

  1. anti said,

    Friday, April 4, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    You are a very strong woman. I take my laptop to work so I can trade icons at lunch and before the long, long half hour drive home. 🙂

    I am just back from a week out of town and I Twittered on my cell phone in the car. Sad, really.


Leave a Reply

