Swing through Singapore

Yours truly was in Singapore last month; the UST Museum lent a rarely-seen oil on canvas painting by Galo Ocampo to the Singapore Art Museum for “Thrice Upon A Time: A Century of Story in the Art of the Philippines” an exhibit organized by the National Heritage Board of Singapore.  I was there to make sure it arrived safely, and was hung in accordance with the work’s conservation needs.

The exhibit, along with other shows, are part of Singapore’s celebration of 40 years of diplomatic relations with the Philippines. I must say they did a fine job.

The “Nativity” is prominently featured in the “Chronicles of Faith” section of the exhibit, which opened November 13, 2009 and will run until January 31, 2010.  Guest of honor at the opening for “Thrice Upon A Time” was Pres. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, who was in Singapore for APEC.

I didn’t have time to see much of anything; it’s a good thing I took the half-day city tour. Otherwise, I would’ve seen the block around my dingy hotel and the Singapore Art Museum and that would’ve been all. I got to visit the top of Mt. Fabre, and had my picture taken wearing a sari, which was awesome!  The Indian guy coming on to me while on the tour… not so much. There’s alpha male, and this guy was just beta being fresh.

I will say what everyone who visits Singapore says: it’s very, very, very, VERY… clean. I loved the temples and the museums and the shopping, all within walking distance of my hotel — I stayed at a cheap, rather rundown place (well, compared to the rest of Singapore) on Queen Street.

Wish I’d made it to the WWII memorial, but there wasn’t time. I honestly don’t enjoy traveling alone; I prefer to have another human being with whom to process what I experience. Oh well, I was there to work anyway. Maybe one of these days I’ll go back and see Sentosa. Maybe one of these days I’ll go back, to have fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

